As a kid I hated chicken noodle soup. Hated it. Would not look at it. Now… What was I thinking?? It is so good, especially on a cool, fall day! As usual, I altered the recipe for the allergy baby. There is nothing she can not have in the actual soup part, I just have to adjust the egg noodles so she can eat it.

I can not bring myself to buy store-bought egg noodles, they are not good! (in my opinion) My mom taught me how to make these home-made noodles, and once you do it you will never buy store-bought ones again. (gluten-free or not!) Promise.

Click here for Hazel’s story!

What to do:

The soup.

Combine in the crock pot:

2.5-3 pounds of chicken (I prefer bone in, because it has a little more flavor, boneless will work as well)

2 cups of chopped carrots

2 cups of chopped broccoli (I used the food processor to make it pretty fine)

1 large onion, chopped

1 tsp dried basil (or fresh, chopped)

2 tablespoons of minced garlic

salt/pepper for taste

32 ounces of chicken stock + 2 cups of water (make sure everything is covered with liquid)

Cook on low 6-8 hours.


*You can add more vegetables or sub a different one. These are the ones I had on hand today.

The noodles:

In a mixing bowl combine:

Egg replacement equivalent to 3 eggs.

2 cups flour– half rice flour and half garbanzoΒ bean flour

1/2 tsp salt

Mix the above ingredients in a bowl. The dough will be sticky, but will smooth out as you knead it. You want the dough to be firm and able to roll out.

Sprinkle a baking mat or a large surface with flour. Roll out the dough, as thin as possible.

Cut the noodles with a pizza cutter, you can make them any size you desire. I usually do about 2-3 inches long and about 1/2 inch wide.


Toss the cut noodles in the flour and break all the pieces apart.


Set the noodles aside.

*If wanting to make the noodles “normal” use regular flour, 3 large eggs and follow the rest of the instructions!

If bone in, remove the bones, shred the chicken and transfer the soup to a stove top pot and bring to a boil. Add the noodles and cook for about 5-10 minutes and let simmer until you are ready to eat.

Note: the rice flour can make the soup really thick! Add water or more chicken broth to think the soup down.

She liked it! πŸ˜„ (this was after bowl 4!!)
Enjoy!

#allergybaby

