Breakfast is a drag. I run out of ideas very quickly and she gets tired of things even faster. I eat eggs and avocados daily- both of which are off limits to little miss allergy baby. So… Off to experiment I go! I have made these a few times and have not had luck. They either end up too mushy, too bland or just plain terrible! But I seem to have found a good combination that she loves. I guess when she eats three in a sitting I can call it a win! 🐷🐷

Click here for hazel’s story!
Oatmeal cups: 

2 large apples (or about 1/2 cup of applesauce)

1.5 cups oats (gluten free if needed)

1/4 cup quiona

1/2 cup dried fruit (I used cranberries)

1/2 cup blueberries 

1 tsp vanilla

1 tablespoon ground flax+ 3 tablespoons of water to sub for an egg 

Cinnamon- just sprinkle some in there. 🙂

1/2 cup pumpkin purée 

1 cup of non dairy milk- if too dry add more.  

Optional:

Tablespoon brown sugar

1/4 cup vegan chocolate chips (I use Enjoy Life brand)

 What to do: 

  • If making applesauce, do this first. (Simply peel and chunk apples. Using the stove top cook until soft, add cinnamon. Purée.) 
  • Make the ‘egg’ and set aside. 
  • Mix all other ingredients in a bowl giving the flax seed time to form to an egg like substance.   
  • Add the flax
  • Scoop into lined muffin tins  
  • Bake at 350 for 20 minutes or until cooked all the way through.

For the leftover applesauce I put it in reusable squeezes! I use Little Green Pouch. 

 

Enjoy! 

#allergybaby 

