Vegan + cheese is not something I’m totally into. I ❤️ cheese. All of it. Mac and cheese is one of my favorite comfort foods! So… I challenged myself to find a vegan recipe for Hazel.

Click here for Hazel’s story!
It turns out there are some options. I found this recipe using nutritional yeast and vegetables to make a “cheese” sauce so I thought I would give it a try. I had never heard of nutritional yeast until now, it seems many people use it as a cheese substitute.


I found the recipe here!

Vegan Mac and Cheese 

  • 1 sweet potato
  • 2 medium carrots
  • 1/2 sweet onion
  • 12 ounces pasta
  • 1/2 c. nutrional yeast
  • 1 tablespoon Dijon mustard
  • 1 tablespoon minced garlic
  • Salt/ pepper to taste
  • Dash of cayenne pepper
  1. Boil (in two cups of water) the vegetables and onion until they are done and soft.  
  2. Cook pasta according to the directions.
  3. Add the remaining ingredients to the cooked vegetable. Purée and set aside. I used a hand blender, but a regular blender would work as well.    
  4.  And lastly… Pour the sauce over the cooked pasta!  

Well, Lucy liked it! 😃 Hazel has been sick the past couple days, so it was probably not the best time to try something new on her.

I will level with you, had I never had REAL mac and cheese I would say this is pretty good. But you can not help and compare to the good stuff…

 Enjoy!

#allergybaby

