Just when you think my little allergy baby can’t have a cake… Grandma came to the rescue. I actually remember making this cake with my grandma as a kid and I loved it. But I had forgot all about it. The story my grandma told me was her grandma made this cake during the depression when a lot of ingredients were not available to her. She only used one pan to mix and bake it in so she would not have to wash more than one. I always thought it was a pretty cool story, so fast forward 20 years and here is my mom making it for hazel. We altered it slightly due to her allergies but I have to say it was amazing and tasted pretty close to what I remember eating as a kid. 

What you need:

  • 3 cups Gluten free flour
  • 2 cups of sugar 
  • 6 tbs baking cocoa, unsweetened 
  • 2 tsp baking soda 
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tbs vanilla 
  • 1 cube butter (vegan) 
  • 2 tbs white vinegar 
  • 2 cups water 

What to do:

Mix it ALL together! 

Bake at 350 degrees for 30-35 minutes, or until done. 

You can top with frosting or we always sprinkle powder sugar on top. 

Enjoy! 

#allergybaby 

